I’ll Never Know What It’s Like To Be Black

Three facts that are undeniable about myself: 

1.) I am not black.

2.) I do not know what it’s like to be black.

3.) I receive benefits of white privilege.

Yet when I log onto social media the voices that are emerging the most about Ferguson are those, like me, that have never and will never be black.

They have no idea, like me, what racial tension feels like.

They, like me, have no idea what racial persecution feels like.

They, like me, have no idea what the onslaught of racial profiling feels like.

They, like me, don’t understand the crippling effects racism breeds.

Unlike me, though, they don’t see the benefits we receive from white privilege.

They don’t see the greatest thing about white privilege is it masks itself so eloquently white folks forget it exists.

It does exist.

Boldly.

The same construct that benefits me, hinders every other race.

But they don’t see it.

They cry “thugs” and think it’s FINE to verbally interchange “young black person” with “thug” when it just proves a racial divide.

But they don’t see their white privilege.

And I’ll never know what it’s like to be black.

Benefactors of white privilege will NEVER be told to “get over slavery.”

Benefactors of white privilege – LIKE ME – will never have to educate their children about the brutal reality of systemic racism and its relational product to them.

I’ll NEVER know what it’s like to be black.

Because of white privilege I can dress however I like and NOT be labeled a “thug” or “gangster” (paging Justin Bieber).

Because of white privilege it’s assumed I received entrance to an elite university based on merit, not on race.

But benefactors of white privilege attest there’s no racism in America, yet they’ll never know what it’s like to be black in this country.

Because of white privilege, I can be aggressive or loud or have “abnormal” hairstyles and NOT worry about assimilating just to maintain decorum.

Because white privilege is so great, we’re not not even aware that white privilege exists, yet in the same sentence we egregiously demand any black person to stop using the “race card.”

A “race card” we have no business being critical of as we have NO IDEA what it’s like to be black in America.

Because white privilege means no one is EVER going to label me a terrorist based on my attire.

White privilege means not being affected by negative stereotypes like the token angry, black woman.

Because we benefit from white privilege when we’re not being followed in a department store based on skin color.

Because white privilege allows us to walk everyday unaware of our skin color opposed to other races who are told incessantly to “get over it.”

And I will never know what it is like to be black.

Ever.

I can pretend I know.

I can even empathize, but I will never know.

When I hear the word “thug” used instead of “young black person” I can’t help, but weep for the ignorance in America.

The ignorance of not seeing white privilege.

Perhaps, that’s the brilliance of white privilege or male privilege or Christian privilege, is its’ benefactors are immune to its benefits.

Still, I will never know what it’s like to be black.

I will never know the heartache…

The tears…

The pain…

The wounds…

The torment…

I will never know.

I will never know.

Perhaps, it’s time for ignorant-laced simpletons to stop for a moment and listen to ALL minorities.

Listen.

Simply shut the fuck up and listen.

Shut the fuck up and realize you’re lucky to be a benefactor of white privilege in America.

Shut the fuck up, you’ll never know what it’s like to be black.

 

 

Leave a Reply

