Daily Devotional: God wants YOU to find YOUR AMAZING

Photo Credit: Robin Sharma

Photo Credit: Robin Sharma

Yesterday, I had the privilege of reconnecting with someone from Angola Middle School; someone who I remember vaguely, but someone I would not have met if it wasn’t for the controversial (it really wasn’t) story I shared of one prevalent time I was bullied as a youth. We reconnected on Facebook and she shared a picture of both of us, she in 8th grade and I in 7th grade. I’ll save you from viewing my dulled dishwater blonde hair and bug-eye glasses, but I looked at a picture and thought this: 

“Tammy, I wish I could travel back in time and tell you how freakin’ awesome you are. ” 

And I also looked at my former self and saw the pain and forlorn in my former self’s eyes…the marks of heartache was all over my forced smile … the indication of my internal struggle was indicative of the dullness in my bored blue eyes.

That picture wasn’t just evidence of the pain I was suffering, though, it was evidence of how far removed I am from my former self, thanks to a secured faith I have with God. I’m not that silent, disheartened, shameful, and bitter girl anymore.

Basically, I’ve CLAIMED my AWESOME — and that’s truly what God wants for each one of us.

The Bible says, “Give, and it will be given to you. Good measure, pressed down, shaken together, running over, will be put into your lap. For with the measure you use it will be measured back to you” (Luke 6:38).

While God nor Jesus are blatantly saying, “Go be awesome, child. Be freakin’ awesome.” They are indeed implying that — being awesome is truly understanding who you are as a person, not what the world says you are; not what your neighbors say you are; not what your friends or acquaintances say you are, but who God designed you to be. It’s understanding that, utilizing that, and allowing God to use you to transform the world.

What you put into the universe WILL come back to you. 

Don’t be hung up by the metric calculation of it all; if you or I affect one person in a positive circumstance, we are, indeed, transforming the world.

So, please, tap into YOUR AWESOME.

Leave a Reply

