365 Days of Impossible: Day 14: Zucchini Nachos Recipe – YUMMY!

Photo: Zucchini Nachos

So, two weeks have passed since my decision to eat clean, whole food in 2014 and surprisingly, the clan – that’s my husband and children, by the way – have been amazingly supportive. While, I would love for them to eat JUST LIKE me, I also know it’s not plausible 100 percent of the time. So, most nights, I just make a little less clean version of whatever I’m having, although, they seem to want my food instead. 

Go figure, right?

Sunday night we agreed to have Nachos which was a great time to try out this recipe I found here called Zucchini Nachos.

Okay, first off, I HATE zucchini, but then I read the recipe and I thought, I might as well try it. I’m so glad I did because it was freakin’ delicious and I must say it’s so satisfying to eat REAL FOOD!

Here’s the details, I would suggest one zucchini per person when making this, also cold pressed olive oil is also a great suggestion 🙂

Without further ado, ZUCCHINI NACHOOOOOOOSS:

4 small zucchini, sliced into “chips,” about 1/4 inch thick rounds

Olive oil, for brushing zucchini chips

Salt and pepper, to taste – I actually added paprika to mine.

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese – I used just a smidgen of cheese on mine.

1 (15 oz) can black beans – if possible, use non-canned 🙂

2 small tomatoes, chopped

1 large avocado, chopped, seed removed

2 green onions, chopped

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

1 lime

I know some of y’all will want sour cream on this, but I would suggest non-GMO greek yogurt. Coming from a sour cream fan, I went without, so it’s very doable.

Directions:

1.) Put the sliced zucchini chips into a bowl and toss with olive oil and seasonings. Place zucchini chips on a hot grill or grill plate and cook 4-5 minutes. Mine took a little bit longer and I used an indoor grill plate. After tender, add cheese while on grill and allow it to melt.

2.) Remove zucchini and assemble on plate and top with aforementioned ingredient.

3.) ENJOY!

4.) Thank me.

By the way, Zachary, my 7-year-old – wanted to ditch his nachos and eat mine.

Leave a Reply

