What does ‘Doing The Impossible’ look like?

What does Doing The Impossible look like?

Doing The Impossible: Hiking to see St. Mary’s Glacier

The Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines ‘impossible’ as unable to be done or to happen; not possible, very difficult, and finally of a person: very difficult to deal with; very irritating or annoying.

The word ‘impossible’ can mean a thousand different things to a thousand different people, but the underlying, general consensus to the term ‘impossible’ is that it’s something – either by our own unwillingness or to the world’s expectations and/or judgements – that’s very difficult to accomplish or complete.

The picture above is from St. Mary’s Glacier west of Idaho Springs in Colorado. In another life, I had to be a photographer because I’m infatuated with taking pictures of nearly everything and, honestly, that picture doesn’t do the glacier justice. But I digress, the glacier is a magnificent and glorious sight, but to experience and relish in nature’s beauty at this specific spot, you have to take a 3/4 mile hike.

In theory, it sounds easy until you see the terrain… and – excuse my language – but OMFGosh the terrain was crazy. In my girly state of mind, I expected smooth payment. Go ahead and call me delusional because that’s not what it was.

Rocks. Lots of rocks.

Not small rocks, but pretty gigantic rocks and could be called cousins of boulder rocks. It was an insane trek and I literally thought I was going to die. Only 5o-feet into the trek, I wanted to quit.

I was unimpressed. I was done with this nature business. I was ready to throw in the towel.

The unending, winding, mountain of slate-colored rock just seemed – wait for it… – impossible to conquer. Not to mention, this trail and by all intents and purposes, was a representation of my earthly hell, was at a constant incline, and not a friendly incline, but an incline that puts in serious cardio. Luckily, it didn’t rain/snow on this day or this rocky trail would have been a cesspool for future Tammy slips because you know moisture creates a slippery surface on rocks.

Nevertheless, something I didn’t think I could do because I either thought my crappy right knee would buckle under me or I thought this was beyond my physical capabilities or I simply didn’t want to step out of my comfortable box.

Well, I was wrong.

An often used quote from St. Francis of Assisi is this, “Start by doing what is necessary, then what is possible, and suddenly you are doing the impossible.

Shouldn’t that be the rat, tat, tat, tat, tat, tat that we drum in our own daily lives? In an ideal world, every individual doesn’t take heed to outsiders’ expectations placed on them; they pay no mind to the restrictions on their own trajectory that are placed. In a perfect situation, we all are living out the impossible, but – as you and I are aware of – this is hardly a perfect world.

And on the day described above, I started doing what was necessary just by takng my time, It started with 50-feet, then 150-feet, then 1/4 mile, and so on and so forth.

Only thing separating ourselves from our own impossible is the security of our mental fortitude. 

While, I have lived most of my life straddling the perpetual line of complacency, convenience, and playing-it-safe satisfaction, the past year has readied me to finally going all in with my treasured life. Rededicating myself to Jesus Christ coupled with huge insights I have had with not only myself, but with others, has readied me for this next step in a fantastic journey.

My sufferings, mistrust issues, bouts of paranoia over the motives of those around me, rejection and my own personality (one could say flaws, I saw flaw-bulous) exacerbated those negative feelings. It’s those feelings that would swirl around me and form a capsule weighing me down in the undertow of diluted confidence, self-esteem, pride and an overwhelming mountain of other emotions.

BUT I AM DONE.

These aren’t just mere realizations of calculated rejections, but the realization of re-purposed re-directions.  

And something pulled at my innards Christmas Eve morning and I gravitated towards what I know: writing.

Thus, the formation of this blog and over the next 365 days I invite anyone that stumbles across it to engage with not just me, but more importantly, themselves as we tackle 365 days of impossible.

I will be living every day in 2014 accomplishing the impossible: saying good-bye to toxic relationships, testing my own boundaries with strangers, living out the Bible as I feel Jesus would truly want us to coupled with traditional “New Year’s Resolutions” such as the tried and true ‘eating clean and getting mean’ meanwhile focusing on accomplishing the impossible with the intricate highways and byways of our mental health.

I have no idea what the next 365 days have in-store for me – or you – but I know one thing:

I’m ready for 365 days of impossible.

One thought on “What does ‘Doing The Impossible’ look like?

Leave a Reply

